Reason-a-Bull

Welcome to Let’s Be Reason-a-Bull, a Chicago Bulls blog that will focus on the franchise from a micro as well as macro perspective. After much deliberation the name was chosen as a representation of what I strive to be as a sports fan, and what I fear many die-hard fans and fan bases often fail to be, reasonable.

As a life long fan of the Bulls, I have a deep and often complex relationship with the club. Since the glory days of 90’s were a bit before my time, my real memories of franchise began to form during the 04-05 season. This team featured five rookies including, Ben Gordon and Luol Deng, and they would begin their regular season campaign, 0-9. However, they defied the odds and rallied to make the playoffs for the first time since Michael Jordan departed, with a 47-35 record, under the tutelage of head coach, Scott Skiles. They would go on to loose in the first round of the Eastern Conference Playoffs to the Gilbert Arenas led Washington Wizards 4-2, despite wining the first two games of the series, and this tumultuous season, is where it all began.

Over the last decade my relationship with the team, and I mean that in all sincerity, has been a wild ride, of extreme highs and incredible lows. Needless to say that 04-05 season was microcosm of what my experience as a fan has been since then, and I would not have it any other way. The Bulls have helped me put things into context and this blog is here to provide perspective on the team, on and off the court. There will be features on games, but the goal is to dissect, view, and understand this team through a broader lens.

As an avid fan of the National Basketball Association, I hope to bring meaning and context to the team that I whole-heartedly support, from the front office, to 15th man on the roster. Most people you meet will come and go in your life, helping to shape the person you are today, and who you will be tomorrow. The Chicago Bulls will always be with me, filling me with emotions and bringing perspective to my life. As the great sports philosopher Roger Bennett, often says, “Sports make us feel feelings that you’re meant to experience in real life.”

I, now cordially welcome you to, Lets Be Reason-a-Bull.

This entry was posted in Fan Blog, NBA, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

